Hello Guest it is April 24, 2024, 09:53:31 PM

Author Topic: LazyCam is being Lazy...  (Read 4694 times)

LazyCam is being Lazy...
« on: December 09, 2009, 06:44:42 PM »
I am new to the whole CNC thing, but could not find any posts with the same specific issue I am having.  I am trying to engrave some lines (mostly imported font from DXF).  The lines are close together and it will not pick up the tool between many of the entities when I get to a font size much smaller that 24 point.  It shows fine in Lazycam Pro, but when import it into Mach3 you can see many of the lines are dropped and others are connected.  I am using an etching point, I have tried entering in all sorts of tool thicknesses and depths, but it keeps bridging the entities.  Other than the goofed lines, it looks fine so the smaller font will work fine if I can fix the random entity removal and insertion between some of the letters.   I tried using the lazycam font feature and it does the same thing, the font looks fine on lazycam, but not good in mach3.  That being said I can't really tell what the machine tool patch is using lazycam, but maybe that is another topic or limitation of the program.   I have tried removing leadins, etc and have not had any success.  Need help, if I can etch font, makes the tool kinda useless for my needs!

Thanks,
Charlie
Re: LazyCam is being Lazy...
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2009, 07:48:54 PM »
Hi Charlie,
  Check the connection tolerance.
Reducing it might help.
Good luck,
RC
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2009, 08:53:25 PM »
Very Cool!   Have 8 point font looking good, only mirrored ???