Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 04:43:37 PM

Author Topic: more stupid questions bits and end mills.  (Read 9291 times)

Offline BarryB

•  267 267
    • View Profile
more stupid questions bits and end mills.
« on: October 29, 2009, 07:09:22 PM »
Let me preface by saying I'm a newbie at this, so I expect to get struck with a book, but still let me ask.  Now that I've got the chuck/collet thing in order, the next step is getting a collection of cutting tools.  Can you guys recommend what to use to cut mainly hardwood, but sometimes soft metal like aluminum and brass?  Can you use a brass bit for wood?  Do you need both a roughing bit, and a finishing bit for each collet size?

Here is where I plan on ordering, not sure if you guys have seen their site yet.  The prices seem decent and great selection:

http://stegmantoolcompany.thomasnet.com/category/special-cutting-tools?

Barry

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
Re: more stupid questions bits and end mills.
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2009, 07:55:18 PM »
I used to use 4 flute end mills on woods, like walnut, bambinga, ebony ( watch out for stone  in the ebony ), and other harwoods in the mill. I would recomend cobalt over HHS as you will be running at high speeds. You can use the same end mills for Al and brass. Frankly, the carbide router cutters would be better for wood.
I am am sure the gantry / router table guys will chime in with better advice.
RICH

Offline Sam

•  987 987
    • View Profile
    • hillbillyhilton.com
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2009, 10:28:18 PM »
They do make a special end mill for wood, but I do believe they cost a premium. Here's a couple links Gerry posted a while back.
http://www.vortextool.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=category.display&category_id=2
https://www.onsrud.com/xdoc/wood