Hello Guest it is April 16, 2024, 09:49:22 AM

Author Topic: Programming in Mach3  (Read 15525 times)

Programming in Mach3
« on: August 18, 2009, 03:27:51 AM »
I'm interested in learning how to program screens, wizards and other such things in Mach3.  The programming doesn't scare me.  I've been a professional programmer for most of my career.  Furthermore, it appears to me that Mach3 is designed to have its interface modified by its users.  What I'm hoping is that someone can point out to me the tools, hooks, starting points and such that have already been provided to make these things as easy as possible.

It looks like the language to use if Visual Basic.  Will I have to go out and buy a copy of Microsoft's VB in order to work on this software?  What other tools will I need? 

Could someone act as a mentor for a moment or two and get me pointed in the right direction?

Thanks,
Mark

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Programming in Mach3
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2009, 03:34:11 AM »
To alter or make screens you can use Screen4, available from the downloads page. To do macros use the editor built into Mach, its accessed from the operator menu. You can make buttons into VB buttons in screen4 and that is usually how the wizards work. If when in a wizard you click operator menu then edit button script you will see the VB button flashing, clcik on it and the editor will open showing the VB in that button.
Hood
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2009, 10:16:39 PM »