Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 06:12:28 AM

Author Topic: Gantry Squaring Setup/Help  (Read 11830 times)

Gantry Squaring Setup/Help
« on: June 30, 2009, 06:16:13 PM »
I am quite new to the cnc world so be gentle  :)

I have just about finished my "joes Hybrid" cnc machine and have been putting the final touches on the setup. currently i have all the home and limit switches setup and working in mach3. i have one switch per axis using a small ramp at each end to trigger the home/limit with the exception of the z axis where i only use the home and softlimits. all the XYZ switches are wired in series and connectected to pin 11, the A axis is connected by itself to another pin (which i don't remember right now) but the diagnostics show the switch activation when pressed.

i am currently slaving teh Y and A axis and want to square it when i do the ref all home button. i have tried some of the recommendations i found on the net but have not had any luck. the last thing i tried was unselecting the master slave checkbox in the general settings but that resulted in the A axis reversing direction just after the switch enabling on the home side then it just kept going while the Y was stopped.

any help in the steps to get this setup would be greatly appreciated.

thanks
James 
Re: Gantry Squaring Setup/Help
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2009, 08:05:53 PM »
Hi

Did you remember to check the function "Home Slave with Master Axis" found in the:

Config -> general config menu ?

Regards
Borge

Offline Greolt

•  956 956
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2009, 09:24:46 PM »
If you want to "square the gantry" don't check "Home Slave with Master Axis"

Are you using the LPT?   If using another device then it must be approached differently.

I do not use "refcombination"  and I am not sure it works to square the gantry anyway.

You want to home the Y before the A. 

Use this in the macro,

DoOEMButton (1024) 'ref Z
DoOEMButton (1022) 'ref X
DoOEMButton (1023) 'ref Y