Author Topic: ODD Comp Move  (Read 4634 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TDAY

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 165
    • View Profile
    • Home CNC Stuff
ODD Comp Move
« on: May 27, 2009, 08:32:36 AM »
Has anyone had a ODD cutter comp move with Cut Circle,or somthin else?
After making program and returning to Mach the Toolpath shows wright. But upon 1ST run of program, comp move is fast and WAY out of diameter of circle.When i stop and reset program, the next run works fine.Cant get this to happen every time thow. Almost "seems" like if it is the 1st comp move of the day, is when it does it.
Any Ideas?
Troy
"I try to put forth the effort,before asking a dum question"
http://homecncstuff.elementfx.com

Offline Ron Ginger

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 921
    • View Profile
Re: ODD Comp Move
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2009, 09:05:46 PM »
Can you post a sample code that does this? It sounds like some init condition, but you say a reset clears it.

Offline TDAY

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 165
    • View Profile
    • Home CNC Stuff
Re: ODD Comp Move
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2009, 06:40:35 AM »
Here is the program i was using.

(Code by Newfangled Wizard, 5/27/2009)
(Version 2.83)
(Program Posted for Medium Steel )
G0 G49 G40.1 G17
G80 G50 G90 G98 
G20 (Inch)
(***** Circular Groove/Cutout *****)
M6T1
M8
G83X11.6875Y0R.1Z-.5Q.05
X10.5
X9.3125
M9
M6 T2
M03 S573
M8
G00 X11.2225 Y-0.375
Z.1
G41
G01 X11.5975 F10
G03 X11.9725 Y0 R0.375 F10
F10
G03 X11.4025 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.015
X11.9725 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.03
X11.4025 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.045
X11.9725 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.06
X11.4025 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.075
X11.9725 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.09
X11.4025 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.105
X11.9725 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.12
X11.4025 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.135
X11.9725 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.15
X11.4025 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.165
X11.9725 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.18
X11.4025 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.18375
X11.9725 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.1875
X11.4025 Y0 R0.285
X11.9725 Y0 R0.285
G00 Z0.1
G03 X11.5975 Y0.375 R0.375
G40
G00 X11.2225 Y0.375
(***** Circular Groove/Cutout *****)
G00 Z0.1
G00 X10.035 Y-0.375
G41
G01 X10.41 F10
G03 X10.785 Y0 R0.375 F10
F10
G03 X10.215 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.015
X10.785 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.03
X10.215 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.045
X10.785 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.06
X10.215 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.075
X10.785 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.09
X10.215 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.105
X10.785 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.12
X10.215 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.135
X10.785 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.15
X10.215 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.165
X10.785 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.18
X10.215 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.18375
X10.785 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.1875
X10.215 Y0 R0.285
X10.785 Y0 R0.285
G00 Z0.1
G03 X10.41 Y0.375 R0.375
G40
G00 X10.035 Y0.375
(***** Circular Groove/Cutout *****)
G00 Z0.1
G00 X8.8475 Y-0.375
G41
G01 X9.2225 F10
G03 X9.5975 Y0 R0.375 F10
F10
G03 X9.0275 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.015
X9.5975 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.03
X9.0275 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.045
X9.5975 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.06
X9.0275 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.075
X9.5975 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.09
X9.0275 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.105
X9.5975 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.12
X9.0275 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.135
X9.5975 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.15
X9.0275 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.165
X9.5975 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.18
X9.0275 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.18375
X9.5975 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.1875
X9.0275 Y0 R0.285
X9.5975 Y0 R0.285
G00 Z0.1
G03 X9.2225 Y0.375 R0.375
G40
G00 X8.8475 Y0.375
M5 M9
G28
M30
« Last Edit: June 05, 2009, 06:42:46 AM by TDAY »
"I try to put forth the effort,before asking a dum question"
http://homecncstuff.elementfx.com

Offline Ron Ginger

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 921
    • View Profile
Re: ODD Comp Move
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2009, 07:26:27 AM »
There is something very strange here- line 10 in your example is a peck drilling cycle. There is nothing in the cut circle wizard that does peck drilling. Have you edited that code? Since there is no G80 to cancel the peck cycle the rest of the code is very strange.

It also appears you ran the wizard 3 times in the one program.

How about a simple example, just one run of the wizard.

Offline TDAY

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 165
    • View Profile
    • Home CNC Stuff
Re: ODD Comp Move
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2009, 08:00:45 AM »
I added the drill cycle, the M6 tool change cancels the Canned Cycle, as for simple example, the odd comp move would happen at the first Circular Groove/Cutout. But, as i said before, the Odd Comp move does not happen all the time. I cant get it to repeat  ??? .  When it happens it only does it once, and then i stop and reset the Gcode, and start again,and there is no probs.
Thanks,
Troy
"I try to put forth the effort,before asking a dum question"
http://homecncstuff.elementfx.com

Offline TDAY

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 165
    • View Profile
    • Home CNC Stuff
Re: ODD Comp Move
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2009, 08:17:57 AM »
Done some more testing almost getting a steady repetition of odd comp move, using the below, unedited Gcode.

(Code by Newfangled Wizard, 6/5/2009)
(Version 2.83)
(Program Posted for Medium Steel )
G0 G49 G40.1 G17
G80 G50 G90 G98 
G20 (Inch)
(***** Circular Groove/Cutout *****)
M6 T2
M03 S573
M9
G00G43 H2 Z0.1
G00 X-0.465 Y-0.375
G41 P0.25
G01 X-0.09 F10
G03 X0.285 Y0 R0.375 F10
F10
G03 X-0.285 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.015
X0.285 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.03
X-0.285 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.045
X0.285 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.06
X-0.285 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.075
X0.285 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.09
X-0.285 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.105
X0.285 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.12
X-0.285 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.135
X0.285 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.15
X-0.285 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.165
X0.285 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.18
X-0.285 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.18375
X0.285 Y0 R0.285 Z-0.1875
X-0.285 Y0 R0.285
X0.285 Y0 R0.285
G00 Z0.1
G03 X-0.09 Y0.375 R0.375
G40
G00 X-0.465 Y0.375
M5 M9
M30
 
"I try to put forth the effort,before asking a dum question"
http://homecncstuff.elementfx.com

Offline TDAY

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 165
    • View Profile
    • Home CNC Stuff
Re: ODD Comp Move
« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2009, 09:35:12 AM »
After more testing.....

To get problem to repeat i do the following...
1)Start Mach3 & Reference each axis starting with Z,Y,X
2)Make or open Gcode File.
3) Zero X and Y on part and Set Tool Offset

If i leave the Zero of X and Y at th Referance position, there is no problem, but if i move the X and Y and Zero, then  comp move makes machine run off at full rapid in a big arc move.
After this i get a message when i try to rerun program.  "Current point same as end point of arcLine 33"   I then must restart Mach to get programs to run right.When i do a Regen. Toolpath after i move zero of part from the Ref. postition, then there is no problems.

On another test i did the following ......
1)Start Mach3,Reference each axis starting with Z,Y,X
2)Zero Xand Y on part,then Set Tool Offset
3) Make or open Gcode.

When i do this the Odd Comp move does not happen(at least not yet).
Troy
« Last Edit: June 05, 2009, 09:53:28 AM by TDAY »
"I try to put forth the effort,before asking a dum question"
http://homecncstuff.elementfx.com

vmax549

  • Guest
Re: ODD Comp Move
« Reply #7 on: June 05, 2009, 11:48:49 PM »
HEY RON , If you look at the example code notice after the M3 call  THE wizard is issuing A M9 call . THAT should be an M8 call to turn ON the coolant. Could you please check the code.

Just a thought (;-) TP

Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,153
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: ODD Comp Move
« Reply #8 on: June 06, 2009, 08:24:49 AM »
Unless you're using V3.043.000 (development version for comp fixes) , there are comp bugs in Mach. But keep in mind that 3.043.000 may have other bugs. But you might want to try it to see if your comp problems go away.
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline Ron Ginger

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 921
    • View Profile
Re: ODD Comp Move
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2009, 10:23:28 PM »
The 2.83 version was done to fix problems created by the new comp code. When I did it I thought Brian was putting the new comp into the released version so I did 2.83. I later found the new comp is only in the one test version, but will be in the new Mach4

The change has to do with the rule that a comp move must be a linear move in the new comp. The old comp allowed an arc move. The new wizard should be OK doing a straight comp move with the old comp code.

Is that confused enough ????

The M9 is there because no coolant is asked for, so it issues an m9. The code is in there to make that an M7 or M8 if you choose mist or flood. Remember, the wizards are written so you can chain them together to generate one big program. It is possible (although unlikely) that one could do an operation with either flood or mist, then do a cut circle and want no coolant, so the m9 is issued.