Hello Guest it is April 25, 2024, 04:58:57 AM

Author Topic: Home, machine, and work coordinates  (Read 2975 times)

Offline mrpeja

•  114 114
    • View Profile
    • Embroidery Machines
Home, machine, and work coordinates
« on: March 30, 2009, 02:48:29 PM »
Hi Hood,
Here is one actual question:
I have plasma table 3,5 x 1,8 meter travel, limit switches at both ends.
Z axis 150 mm travel, with Floating head, floating switch and home/limit switch at one end.
I want to cut on sheet 3 x 1,5 meter, and sheet should be somewhere in the middle of the table.
Please explain what will be the home position, machine coordinates, work coordinates.
Please explain how to set each of them and how to remember all for further work.
Should SheetCam be involved in this process?
Please have on your mind, I'm a newbie,
Regards
mrpeja

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Home, machine, and work coordinates
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2009, 03:06:34 PM »
If you have home switches at the ends of the travels then it is normal to home X and Y in the negative directions and Z in the positive. If you have Auto zero chosen on the Homing and Limits page this will then zero the machine coords when you home the machine. You can then jog to any position on the table you wish and press the zero button at the side of the axis DROs, you have now just set up a work offset(G54). If you press the machine coords zero you will see the distance you have moved from them, press it again and you will again see your work offset.