Hello Guest it is April 18, 2024, 10:38:42 AM

Author Topic: What is your trade?  (Read 18382 times)

BClemens

What is your trade?
« on: February 27, 2009, 06:56:30 AM »
What is your trade?

I'm a welder - in a cryogenic chamber with an electron beam.

Bill C.

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: What is your trade?
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2009, 07:00:53 AM »
Fisherman originally if you could consider that a trade, was certainly cold and wet ;D Now I repair the boats amongst other machining and welding work, mainly one off jobs.
Hood

BClemens

« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2009, 07:23:35 AM »
Fantastic Hood! I spent 26 years repairing boats too. Finally bought the marina and went broke. Problem with the boats that I repaired, they were for pleasure....and are idle and in disrepair when times get tough. Great!

Bill C.
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2009, 10:58:59 AM »
Machinist/machine designer with way too much welding exp. I had a shop with
a couple of doz. employees but for the last 15 years just me.Fix everything and anything.
Designed stuff from underwater logging equipment to systems for the Advanced Life support
systems on the Mars project.(Don't ask I woulkd have to kill you.)Now I am half way to understanding electronics and this controll stuff.Hey a new trade at 52!!.
Also a fisherman, well a fishaholic.Hard core fly fisherman.

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2009, 02:04:36 PM »
Bill,
  the fishing industry is declining in Scotland and the leisure crafts are increasing, however I don't do very much work for the leisure crowd or WAFI's as they get called ;)  The majority of them want stainless products and highly polished at that but they want it for less than material costs let alone machining and fabrication costs.

Keith