Hello Guest it is April 19, 2024, 02:48:35 PM

Author Topic: SmoothStepper and laptop without ground....  (Read 6623 times)

SmoothStepper and laptop without ground....
« on: November 20, 2008, 10:43:32 PM »
Hi!

I just received my Smoothstepper and I would like to use it with my Toshiba M30 laptop and a 4 axis Xylotex "ready to use" driver box.
Since I am a Newbie and heard about all the dangers coming from ground loops, power spikes etc. I was wondering if it could be a problem for the Smoothstepper that my laptop does not have a grounded power source. The AC plug is only a two pin...no ground line.

Thanks for your inputs!

Andre

« Last Edit: November 20, 2008, 10:58:56 PM by Twurf »
Re: SmoothStepper and laptop without ground....
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2008, 10:12:49 PM »
 :'(
Hi...nobody an idea?
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2008, 01:43:01 AM »
  A good bet would be to ask the makers of the controller box whether it would be indeed safe for the laptop or not.  Judging only by their pictures, it does appear that it's plugin for power APPEARS to have grounding, but as I don't have that sytem in my hands to physically tear apart and look at it, I cannot say whether they have the internals wired for an application like this or not.

An approach I would use in a case like this, would be to build an add-in board with extra diodes, and a few extra chips to ensure that THEY would get fried instead of the laptop if something went horribly wrong...if someone else happens to have a schematic in this case, please feel free to add that to this thread too...many may benefit from it (I would, but don't presently have it drawn out right now)
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2008, 07:33:01 PM »
Thanks for your thoughts, shadow!