Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 05:23:13 AM

Author Topic: Hello everyone  (Read 4328 times)

Hello everyone
« on: November 01, 2008, 07:26:11 AM »
Hello all,
          Thank you for letting me join this knowledgeable site. I am a former cnc setter programmer who has also done fixture design as well as estimating and purchasing and I now make fishing floats for a living in the UK. I am building a machine that will grind the various shapes and sizes of float body from balsa dowel and also put the hole through the centre for the glass fibre stems. I can handle the machine building bit fine but am sure I will need help getting it to run from the Mach 3 software which will come with the router machine when I purchase it. At the moment I have got the spare PC to run it but need to build my balsa dowel holding  "4th axis" before I can finalise the required build dimensions of the modified router and place an order.

Regards - Neil.

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Hello everyone
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2008, 07:31:35 AM »
Welcome Neil
 You can download and use the demo version of Mach which will let you get used to it. The demo has a few limitations but is generally usable and it is all that some people use, personally I feel the price is that good that even if I didnt need the extra features available in the licenced version I would still buy it but everyone to their own :)
Hood
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2008, 07:38:03 AM »
Hello Hood,
                Thanks for the welcome. I have downloaded the trial version but have not had much of a play with it yet. Is it possible to write G code straight into the Mach3 as being a former programer it would be easy to create progams as I go along. Do you have to do anything to simulate running a program without an actual machine linked to the PC. - Neil.

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2008, 08:26:43 AM »