Hello Guest it is March 29, 2024, 08:18:22 AM

Author Topic: setting up new workpiece  (Read 2645 times)

setting up new workpiece
« on: September 25, 2008, 08:27:09 PM »
Hey guys:
I'm new to CAD, new to CNC and new to my EZ router. I am set up for plasma. I bought the machine used, everything works if you know what ur doing. I can follow the work pieces that were left in the machine and cut fine but I am lost at inputting my own files.
I have PDF and converted them to DXF which my V-carve reads ok. End of the easy stuff for me. I don't understand the lingo for the most part. Vectors Gcode etc. I don't know how to input dimensions for my workpiede, how to nest, etc.
 I think I understand what the "material" means... the size of the sheet on the table, or does it mean... what is the size of the finished part/ I have a right triangle with 1 side at a 20 inch radius. Haven't figured how to put the radius in. Simple stuff for a reasonably intelligent person. Where does that leave me. I do good to navigate a computer period.
Can anyone give me a little guidance.

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
Re: setting up new workpiece
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2008, 11:50:21 PM »
shane2loco4u,
 Hi!
A quick overview. CAD is used to draw something. The drawing can be converted to different forms ( like PDF, DXF) so another computer program ( VCarve) can interprit the drawing. That other computer program (VCARVE ) prepares the information into a form ( Gcode) so another device ( the controller / MACH) can execute the information in a aparticular way as  instructed by the computer. The machine  just responds to the commands given it in a mechanical / electrical way.
Magic your piece is done.

Now each of the major steps described above is a book in understanding by itself. You really need to do some reading on your owne unless you get more specific on where you need help.