Hello Guest it is April 22, 2019, 08:51:31 AM

Author Topic: Taig CNC Lathe: First Run...  (Read 27133 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline budman68

*
  • *
  •  2,360 2,360
    • View Profile
Taig CNC Lathe: First Run...
« on: September 20, 2008, 08:27:52 PM »
Ok, so as most of you know, I've been putting together my first little CNC from scratch. Well, maybe not scratch as I started off with a Taig "manual" Micro lathe and put together a little piece of art -  :D

I'm still very much learning about all this and need to learn a LOT more before I'm making any useful parts with it. It needs to be fitted with home/limit switches and other assorted schtuff but I'm getting there slowly but surely.

As for the video, I have no idea what I'm doing so bear with the editing and all that crap.... lol!

All in all, I'm seriously happy so far with what I've got and I promise to get some nice still pics of the unit and explain more about it later.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mgIKLJxTn9Q

Thanks,
Dave
 

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Just because I'm a Global Moderator, don't assume that I know anything !

Dave->    ;)

Offline Chaoticone

*
  • *
  •  5,472 5,472
  • Precision Chaos
    • View Profile
Re: Taig CNC Lathe: First Run...
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2008, 08:55:41 PM »
Good Job Dave. You did a good job on the video as well. Isn't this stuff addictive? You get to learn much more than just Mach (as if that isn't enough) in the process.  ;)

Brett
;D If you could see the things I have in my head, you would be laughing too. ;D

My guard dog is not what you need to worry about!

Offline budman68

*
  • *
  •  2,360 2,360
    • View Profile
Re: Taig CNC Lathe: First Run...
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2008, 08:02:32 AM »
Indeed it is addictive, Brett.

What sucks is I have a family and 2 jobs so it's so hard to get a lot done with it but I'm hoping having these little cnc's will create more time for me

.........ahhhh...who am I kidding, it's only going to allow me to make MORE parts (read "work")  :D

Thanks,
Dave
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Just because I'm a Global Moderator, don't assume that I know anything !

Dave->    ;)

Offline budman68

*
  • *
  •  2,360 2,360
    • View Profile
Re: Taig CNC Lathe: First Run...
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2008, 11:41:11 AM »
Testing to embed video directly-



<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/mgIKLJxTn9Q" target="_blank" class="new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/mgIKLJxTn9Q</a>


EDIT-FAIL---
« Last Edit: September 21, 2008, 12:22:31 PM by Chaoticone »
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Just because I'm a Global Moderator, don't assume that I know anything !

Dave->    ;)

Offline Chaoticone

*
  • *
  •  5,472 5,472
  • Precision Chaos
    • View Profile
Re: Taig CNC Lathe: First Run...
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2008, 12:23:38 PM »
Dave, on your last test, i just went in and deleted the quotation marks ".

Brett
;D If you could see the things I have in my head, you would be laughing too. ;D

My guard dog is not what you need to worry about!

Offline budman68

*
  • *
  •  2,360 2,360
    • View Profile
Re: Taig CNC Lathe: First Run...
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2008, 12:27:00 PM »
Ah, ok, thank you, now I know......  ;)
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Just because I'm a Global Moderator, don't assume that I know anything !

Dave->    ;)

Offline Chaoticone

*
  • *
  •  5,472 5,472
  • Precision Chaos
    • View Profile
Re: Taig CNC Lathe: First Run...
« Reply #6 on: September 21, 2008, 01:03:28 PM »
No problem.

Brett
;D If you could see the things I have in my head, you would be laughing too. ;D

My guard dog is not what you need to worry about!

Offline budman68

*
  • *
  •  2,360 2,360
    • View Profile
Re: Taig CNC Lathe: First Run...
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2008, 03:53:33 PM »
Some more pics for you as promised....

I setup some home switches today and made the z axis adjustable to be able to have my z home wherever I'd like using a stainless steel adjustable rod on the headstock. I think this would be a pretty nice feature since that position may change with certain jobs that would be done.

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Just because I'm a Global Moderator, don't assume that I know anything !

Dave->    ;)

Offline budman68

*
  • *
  •  2,360 2,360
    • View Profile
Re: Taig CNC Lathe: First Run...
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2008, 03:56:31 PM »
More pics since we're only allowed to load 4 at a time:

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Just because I'm a Global Moderator, don't assume that I know anything !

Dave->    ;)

Offline budman68

*
  • *
  •  2,360 2,360
    • View Profile
Re: Taig CNC Lathe: First Run...
« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2008, 03:57:46 PM »
and a few more of the home switches, not yet wired, of course- :P
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Just because I'm a Global Moderator, don't assume that I know anything !

Dave->    ;)