Hello Guest it is March 19, 2024, 01:13:28 AM

Author Topic: Invisible Mach-3  (Read 2851 times)

Invisible Mach-3
« on: September 10, 2008, 11:11:40 PM »
Hi all,

I am new to all this, so I may be dealing with something which is old hat to the regulars - please be patient!

I hope to use Mach 3 to control an existing engraver, which I'm sure it can do. The jobs are all similar, and there will be about 20 standard components, each needing one line of text. I want the operator to load the component into a fixture, select the component type, and then input the line of text. They then press the GO button (in some form) and the job starts. No programming, no G codes, nothing like that bothering the operator. So all the generation of G codes and so on happens automatically.

The big question is - can this be done?

The second question is - can anyone give me a clue as to how?

Thanks in advance,

Keith
Keith  S. Angus

Offline jimpinder

•  1,232 1,232
  • Wakefield, West Yorks, UK
    • View Profile
Re: Invisible Mach-3
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2008, 11:34:09 PM »
Yes - Easy peasey - BUT

someone will have to write the GCode.

There are several CAD/CAM programs on the market which will write these for you - I do not use them so I cannot advise.
There was a similar question on here a couple of weeks back if you look - he was engraving wooden signs, and had quite a collection. He might advise you what he used. I can't remember the name.

As far as an operator goes, a monkey could do it after that. Fit in the workpiece, select a title and press the cycle start button, in fact you can write an even better program which would just list the lines, and you just click on the one you want and the machine would cut it.

Mach 3 has an interface with Visual Basic - a computer language, and you can write "scripts" in that to "customiise" your machine.
Not me driving the engine - I'm better looking.
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2008, 11:52:53 PM »
ksangus,