Hello Guest it is March 19, 2024, 12:08:37 AM

Author Topic: Homing  (Read 5663 times)

Homing
« on: September 06, 2008, 10:58:24 PM »
I am new to CNC, I am confused as to homing . I do not have homing switches on my machine. I have noticed on the set-up videos there are min. and max. soft limits, how do I set these without switches. I noticed in a set up chart it showss 100.00 max and -100. min. but don't I need to use my table dimensions .Also how do I set the z axis, do I set the min. at the top. Thanks ,Mark

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Homing
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2008, 04:36:22 AM »
OK if you dont have limits or home switches you can set up soft limits as follows.
 Go to Homing and Limits page from the Config menu and make sure you have Auto Zero chosen for each axis.
 Then jog so tool is lower left corner of your table and in the fully up (Z) Now press the RefAll button. If you look at machine coords you should now see all axis at zero. Next go to Homing and Limits again and enter Zero for X min Y min and Z Max. For X Max, Y Max and Z Min you enter your travel for each axis remembering the Z is a negative number. Also set up a slow zone, how much you need to set  is machine dependant as the decelleration time is what determines whether the zone is large enough to slow from a full rapid or indeed is too large so that the axis slows down to a crawl too far away from the end of the axis.
Once thats done you need to enable soft limits and you should be good to go.
 Remember every time you start Mach you will need to jog to the lower left fully up position and press the Ref All button.
It is fairly easy to fit limits switches so it may be best to do so, remember to use shielded wire if you decide to add some.

Hood
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2008, 10:01:44 AM »
Thank you very much, I will give it a shot today
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2008, 03:51:13 PM »