Hello Guest it is April 19, 2024, 08:39:49 PM

Author Topic: Problems with Parallel Port inputs on Motherboard  (Read 8618 times)

Problems with Parallel Port inputs on Motherboard
« on: July 29, 2008, 01:39:35 AM »
I set up Mach3 the way I liked it, and moved the CFG to the computer I decided to use (All-in-one touch screen computer). It's got a Jetway 625EMP with a VIA C3 CPU. The stepper motors and spindle relay control work fine, but all inputs (Limit switches, emergency stop) don't work at all. I came across a parallel port test program, and it detects all the inputs fine. I've tried changing the port from 378 to 278, tried SPP, EPP ECP, and EPP+ECP, and nothing works. I don't know if it is important, as I've never programmed a parallel port before, but the test program shows 3 addresses. It shows 378, 379, and 37A. Next to each number it shows a byte, and when I trip the switches, bits in the 379 byte toggle. I'm guessing this is normal, but not sure. I thought it might be something left over from the config file, which I just copied over from the other computer, but I renamed it and used the old file, then set it up, and it still doesn't work. I suppose It might be some unfixable strange incompatibility, but hoping someone has some ideas :)

BTW, Both computers have Windows 2K

Also, no need to tell me to update the BIOS. I tried, and then realized it was actually a downgrade, and I already had the latest. It required an EPROM programmer to fix....

Offline jimpinder

•  1,232 1,232
  • Wakefield, West Yorks, UK
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with Parallel Port inputs on Motherboard
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2008, 04:13:50 AM »
The LPT port addresses, LPT1 and LPT2 are, in actual fact, three addresses each in the PC.

LPT1 is &H378, &H379 and &H37A, LPT2 is &H2278,279 and 27A