Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 05:16:33 AM

Author Topic: Starting from Zero, need advice  (Read 3854 times)

Starting from Zero, need advice
« on: June 13, 2008, 12:19:06 PM »
First, I'm VERY new to CNC. This is the first time I've even had access to one.

I just finished my Sherline Mill conversion to CNC, and now I'm wondering if I should have asked around first (No plans, nothing from a kit, I did it all from scratch, doing what I THOUGHT was right). I assumed that limit switches were most important, so I used up my Parallel Port inputs on X, Y, and Z limit switches. Now it seems home switches are more important. Is there a way to simulate a home position from a limit switch? Or should I just add home switches? If so, what's the best place to put them? Can or should I put all my limit switches on one pin? My home switches? I'm using Linistepper drivers with stepper motors. Forgive me if this was answered before, but there is a LOT of information on here, and after much looking, I haven't found it. Thanks!
« Last Edit: June 13, 2008, 12:21:07 PM by RChadwick »

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Starting from Zero, need advice
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2008, 01:38:14 PM »
If you have normally closed switches you can connect them all in series and use just one pin in Mach. When homing Mach treats the limit switch as a home switch and automatically goes back to treating it as a limit after the homing has completed.
Hood

Offline jimpinder

•  1,232 1,232
  • Wakefield, West Yorks, UK
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2008, 01:44:33 PM »
Don't worry  ;D

You are certainly getting very advanced before you even start.

You don't need home switches, or limit switches to enjoy CNC. If you have your axis working from Mach 3 then that is all there is to it.