Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 11:41:20 AM

Author Topic: Should I scrap Vista for XP?  (Read 20777 times)

Offline CT

•  40 40
    • View Profile
Should I scrap Vista for XP?
« on: May 28, 2008, 03:43:19 PM »
Is there anyone successfully using Vista with Mach3 2.0. I am a newbie with a newly retrofitted mill and I believe Vista is the problem. Thanks Colin

Offline Kristin D

•  203 203
  • Take that you LazyCam, next stop the glue factory!
    • View Profile
Re: Should I scrap Vista for XP?
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2008, 04:37:19 PM »
Colin,

I was reading your other post and am still unclear about your printer port, is this a card slot port or some USB adaptor. I'll keep watching your other post for updates as it will be easier to follow the whole flow of things there rathr than starting a new thread.

Kristin
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2008, 06:00:01 PM »
The question is is anyone successfully using it for anything. It has been dubbed the New Millennium.

Microbloat are ditching it for Windows 7

I myself have just bought a new laptop NOT for Mach it came pre installed with Vista so i did try it but it was just so slow.

Put on XP, which i can start up, check email, then shut down faster than Vista will boot, total rubbish, albeit pretty.

Phil_H
The Good Thing About Mach3, Is It's very Configurable

The Bad Thing About Mach3, Is It's Too Configurable

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2008, 07:12:12 PM »
I tend to agree, seen lots of computers recently with Vista and even tried it on my own one here at home when it first came out. If the computer has 2 Gig of memory then it will run at the speed XP will run with 256Meg (if lucky LOL)
 I would imagine that there will be many features that can be turned off so that things speed up a bit but not worth the hassle, XP or Win2K run much better and dont try and interfere with everything you do.
Hood

Offline CT

•  40 40
    • View Profile