Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 01:35:37 PM

Author Topic: Vista, Mach3 Help!  (Read 3217 times)

Offline CT

•  40 40
    • View Profile
Vista, Mach3 Help!
« on: May 27, 2008, 04:48:19 PM »
I am new to this stuff like many other folks and hoping to get some input as to why I cannot get mach3 which appears to be functioning according to the tutorials so far, will not run the motors on this initial start up. Someone has advised that I check to make sure the port I installed is working and to use parmon which is what I plan to do if I can figure it out, also he had me check to see if a printer would work to see if it was getting that far. Finally was able to get that to work but, still no response to the mill. My mill is a retrofitted Questech Micromill with PMDX 122 & 150's. Motors work if I use the test mode buttons on the boards, leds are showing to be normal "All is well and active".

I purchased a new HP PC/Vista with only usb ports, I was told to install this moschip parallel port, which I did along with the drivers and they too seem to be working according to Vista, I am lost and need some help! Thanks in advance for any help. Colin

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Vista, Mach3 Help!
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2008, 05:23:58 PM »
Have you got the correct port address set in Mach? If its a PCI port you will need to look and see what its address is in Control Panel , System, Hardware,  Device Manager then Ports. Look at the resources tab of your port and the first four digits will be what you enter in the Ports and Pins  for Port 1 address.
Hood

Offline CT

•  40 40
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2008, 08:46:30 PM »
Thanks Hood,

I did do that and have not had any luck there as well. One thing I do know is, in the diagnostics page where the port pin status is , it shows which ones are green and I guess active. Does this help? Colin

Offline CT

•  40 40
    • View Profile