Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 09:33:10 PM

Author Topic: 1st timer...Mach 3 help  (Read 4289 times)

1st timer...Mach 3 help
« on: May 11, 2006, 08:28:56 AM »
hi

im starting a project to rebuild an old cnc lathe.  im a mechanical engineer, so i have little knowledge of electronics and such.

what im using is mach3 turn with Gecko 201's on each of the 2 axis along with the combo breakout board from campbell.

so far ive hooked up the steppers to the gecko's and breakout board to the pc.  ive done some jogging and adjusted the turning options to suit the threading on my axels.

i have some questions about the electrical side of this though. 

1. the Z-axis, when set up according to the instructions with campbell's board (active low), the z-limit starts blinking (limits are not connected yet) and the only way to resolve this is to set the signal to active high, contrary to the instructions of the breakout board.  x works fine with active low.  what could be going on here?

2.  The Z-axis/gecko is hooked into the Z outputs on the breakout board, but the LED board blinks on the A-axis when i jog Z.  what does this mean?

3.  There is a bit of clicking noise coming from the breakout board when jogging around.  is this bad?

Thanks for any help regarding these concerns of mine.  remember im new to this, and any answers in plain laguage are greatly appreciated.

-g

« Last Edit: May 11, 2006, 08:37:25 AM by gaussian »
Re: 1st timer...Mach 3 help
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2006, 03:49:56 PM »
1. Iis not a problem once you have a limit hooked up that may change state depending on what type of switch you have.
2. Your settings under porst and pins are not right
3. I think it is "OKay"...
Hope that helps
Brian

hi

im starting a project to rebuild an old cnc lathe.  im a mechanical engineer, so i have little knowledge of electronics and such.

what im using is mach3 turn with Gecko 201's on each of the 2 axis along with the combo breakout board from campbell.