Hello Guest it is April 19, 2024, 04:55:13 AM

Author Topic: MAXNC 10 OL Wave Drive - problem using 2nd port for 4th axis  (Read 5469 times)

MAXNC 10 OL Wave Drive - problem using 2nd port for 4th axis
« on: October 29, 2007, 06:16:13 PM »
Hi,

I am a model engineer and a CNC newbie and have just acquired a MAXNC 10 open loop mill. It is the earlier version with wave drive. It also has a 4th axis rotary table. The system as purchased was configured and working OK with MAXNX DX DOS software. The 4th axis is driven from a separate parallel port and this can also control the spindle motor relay. However, I wanted to use it in a Windows XP environment and after much research and rave reviews, decided to try the Mach 3 software.

I have downloaded and installed Mach 3 R2.36. I have watched the setup tutorial, carried out drive test successfully and read the very useful MAXNC OL configuration document. I have now got the X, Y and Z axis working via the jog function. However, I now have some problems that I just do not understand!!!

The 2nd parallel port in on a PCI card that uses ITE chip set. I have successfully installed the drivers and tested the port on a printer OK (LPT2). I have found the address (0AF0) and used this in the Mach 3 config and enable port #2 but I can not get Mach 3 to do anything on the second port! This is what I have found:

1. X, Y, Z work fine on LPT1.

2. Plugging in the 4th A axis controller into LPT1 allows me to successfully drive the rotary table using the Z axis jog keys. I assume, therefore, the controller is OK and that the pin assignment for A axis is the same as Z axis but obviously on the other port.

3. Plugging the X, Y, Z axis controller in LPT2 produces no response when changing the motor drive config (Motor Outputs table) to port 2 in Mach 3.