Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 02:03:33 AM

Author Topic: CNC newby - motor setup question  (Read 2541 times)

CNC newby - motor setup question
« on: December 07, 2013, 09:34:14 AM »
Complete newby – would appreciate help and advice please .

I have a setup bought from CNC4U comprising their HG07 breakout board, 4 off CW5045 and 4 off 4Nm stepper motors. All wired up as per their datasheets and running via Mach3 on dedicated Windows XP Pro pc.
When I first bought the kit I had it running on my bench and everything appeared to work fine. I ran the Roadrunner example GCode program and the motors all moved and I’ve created and run a few very simple GCode programs which ran properly.
Now I’ve made up the motor mounts and fitted them to my machine the system does not seem to run so well and I don’t know why.

However I move the axes, whether under GCode program control or by jogging using the keyboard or joystick, the axes sometimes move at full speed and sometimes move very slowly indeed, and I have no control over what speed I’ll get. The speed doesn’t change whilst the motors are running, but from one jog or GCode move to another I often get a totally different speed. Sometimes it’s fast in one direction and slow in the other, other times fast in both directions or slow in both directions. Switching the spindle motor on or off seems to make no difference, and controlling the jog from keyboard or joystick or moving by Gcode makes no difference. I’m not in control of what speed I get but at least the DROs look like they’re counting either slow or fast at the right rate for the motor speed.