Hello Guest it is April 16, 2024, 06:15:38 AM

Author Topic: Newbie Can't Get Files into Mach  (Read 4225 times)

Offline PSG

•  21 21
    • View Profile
Newbie Can't Get Files into Mach
« on: August 04, 2007, 11:19:05 AM »
I am new to the world of CNC and could use some help to develop a reliable way to get usable files into Mach 2 or 3. The machine and the Mach interface work fine. My problem seems to be from LazyCam to the demo version of Mach. The software used to create and generate the DXF and files is Corel Draw X3. The DXF files have been exported as AutoCad 2004 files.

When opening/importing files to LazyCam, the preview looks fine. When the g-code is generated and opened in Mach, I get nothing that even resembles what I was able to see in LazyCam. Reading the g-code in Mach, although I am no expert, it is very obvious that a good number of the coordinates/lines are missing. I originally that this was due to trying to start with a somewhat complex 2D file that was just too many lines (and too many arcs) of G-code for the Mach 2 demo. I also that that the problem was possibly related to the file being an incorrect scale that was out limits. That is definitely not the case. I then tried some simple files (square, circle, triangle, all separate and combined) , and it still seems to be a hit or miss situation when it is converted to g-code.

I presumed that because I was able to preview the file in LazyCam, that the DXF file had no issue with the original DXF from Corel. Just to be sure and eliminate any possibility of a DXF issue, I did use the DXF converters, which changed nothing, regardless of which version of DXF I used. I do not have AutoCad loaded on the machine, although I know I can purchase an older version of r12 or r13, if it gives better assurances.

Using Mach's jog controls, the machine works properly and I am confident with the Mach Controller interface.