Hello Guest it is April 17, 2024, 10:28:26 PM

Author Topic: Cutting Circles  (Read 15427 times)

Cutting Circles
« on: November 07, 2007, 08:56:47 PM »
Having a problem cutting circles. They don't come out exactly round. There will be a small flat spot on one side. The machine cuts squares within .002".

Offline Chip

•  2,055 2,055
  • Gainesville Florida USA
    • View Profile
Re: Cutting Circles
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2007, 10:08:15 PM »
Hi, Rkjohn

Check for backlash in the axis's, It's usually the cause.

Thanks, Chip
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2007, 10:21:12 PM »
I'm new to this. How do I do that?

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2007, 03:09:30 AM »
Put a dial against the quill (if a mill or router) and jog the table so that the plunger is pushed in. Either zero or take a note of both the axis and dial readings then change to step mode so that your axis jogs in small incriments and back off the dial, as soon as you see the needle moving stop and look at the DRO for the axis you are using and the difference between that and the previous noted reading is your backlash. Repeat for all other axis.
Hood

Offline Chip

•  2,055 2,055
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2007, 03:48:00 AM »
Hi, Rkjohn

First theres a Jog/MPG Screen if you haven't found it, Under the Tab key, It may make it easer ? Learning curve.

Jog Mode, "Step", Cycle Jog Step, "click on it or to the right click to enter value.

Check for backlash in Axis's.

Best done with a dial indicator with 1 inch of travel,

Setup as Picture below, Jog left .750 then re-zero dial indicator 0 mark, Zero X on Mach3 Prog. Run Screen.

(this takes the backlash out to the left if any when your moving right).

Now jog .500 to the right, Dial indicator should read .500 and Mach will indicate .500, Record the distance moved.