Hello Guest it is April 28, 2024, 11:24:13 PM

Author Topic: Edit Screen - Mutli-line textbox, label with scrollbar or table control?  (Read 1259 times)

We are customizing Mach4 to act partially as a data acquisition tool, and I am trying to display the contents of a Lua table on the screen. The table comprises several axis values, as well as a probe reading (that comes over Modbus), and might end up being 100+ "rows" long. In the screen editor I want to display this table in a control, but unfortunately it looks like none of the controls have the ability to display a 2D table very well.

Textboxes don't seem to natively support multi-line capability like it does in most languages (I am a C# software engineer). Maybe this can be done through a Lua script? I'm not familiar enough with the namespaces in Lua to know where to start, however.

Labels support multi-line, but do not have scroll bars if the contents extend beyond the bottom bounds of the label. Again, available through Lua?

There is no table control (aside from tool table, which is not very customizable).

Anyone know how to do any of the above? Add a scroll bar to a multi-line textbox, or maybe to a tab that contains a label that extends beyond the lower bounds of the tab control? Or just add a simple table/grid?
« Last Edit: February 02, 2022, 11:01:08 AM by mb-ABTech »
Re: Edit Screen - Mutli-line textbox, label with scrollbar or table control?
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2022, 06:39:40 PM »
Hi,
I rather think that requirement is outside of what Mach offers natively, but Mach itself offers only the very briefest subset of wx.Widgets.
I suspect what you want is eminentlty doable, try wxFormBuilder.

Craig
'I enjoy sex at 73.....I live at 71 so its not too far to walk.'
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2022, 01:40:16 PM »
I figured out how to add new windows with all the controls I am looking for, but if possible I would really like to add a multiline textbox to the "main" screen.