Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 08:32:46 AM

Author Topic: Probe not retracting  (Read 1640 times)

Probe not retracting
« on: January 01, 2022, 05:35:07 PM »
Using Mach4 and CNC4PC Smoothstepper with Touch Sensor. I'm completely new to CNC so struggling to figure this out. Using G31.0 to probe and the plasma tip as the conductive touch sensor. I have been using the TouchOff UI and it does the touch off as set in the parameters but it will not retract. The log shows the probe touches but then errors that the probe touch is lost and doesn't retract. The touch sensor trips off once it detects touch and that seems to cause an error for Mach4. How do I get Mach4 to understand that it just need to go up the retract distance after the Plasma Touch Sensor triggers and not continue to look for a signal?
Re: Probe not retracting
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2022, 05:29:57 PM »
Hi,
it sounds like your probe circuit has noise on it. The torch lowers until it touches but with contact bounce may make and break contact many times within
milliseconds....and that will screw up the G31 move up and thereafter the ESS will issue a <Cycle Stop> and so the torch will not retract.

Try on the Port&Pins tab of the ESS adding a value, say 5000, as filtering to your probe circuit.

You may also try reading some of the posts about troubles various users have had with the Probing module. If the ESS detects a fault during a G31 move it will error out and issue a <Cycle Stop> by default.
You can change that behaviour if you think it warranted......and some recent posts cover it.

Craig
'I enjoy sex at 73.....I live at 71 so its not too far to walk.'
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2022, 11:23:58 AM »