Hello Guest it is April 16, 2024, 07:27:06 PM

Author Topic: Rapid Travel  (Read 3785 times)

Rapid Travel
« on: June 27, 2006, 05:14:19 PM »
Hello,

I am new to this software and am using a demo version to evaluate. I have the software connected to a router table. I have everything set (I think?) but here's my problem:

After loading a simple drawing through lazycam and importing the G-code file:

I have the material in the center of the table and have set the offsets accordingly. When the program starts, when it gets to G0 (gee zero) to run to the first coordinate, (I assume it should Rapid traverse to that point) my stepper motors jump/hop/sound horrible until it reaches the first coordinates. Once there, everything seems to be fine.

My jog keys work fine in all directions. If I use a manual input from the MDI window and type for example G0 Y50.0000, the same thing occurs. MY unit hops out there horribly.

MY test part came out fine and the table operated normally. Its just traversing to the first coordinate or G0 that seems to be the problem.

Help?

UPDATED Info********************************

Thanks all for the info however I have discovered that I wasn't quite correct in the original post. I have found out that the problem is between continuous jag and step jog. If using continuous jog, the travel in all directions is perfect. If using Step jog, the travel is horrible. The motors seem to hesitate and pause badly in between steps. I set the increment for 1 inch and it hops along badly in that inch in either direction.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2006, 11:05:05 AM by DDFRST »

Offline Psad

•  82 82
    • View Profile
Re: Rapid Travel
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2006, 05:32:43 PM »
Sounds llike maybe your "rapid traverse" speed is too high.  Once you load a slower speed the motors have enough torque to run normally.
just a thought. 
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2006, 07:17:07 PM »