Hello Guest it is April 24, 2024, 01:14:59 PM

Author Topic: Calling ScreenScript or module functions from macro  (Read 1059 times)

Calling ScreenScript or module functions from macro
« on: July 21, 2023, 07:07:29 AM »
Hi,

Mach4 and Lua beginner here. I've seen several related questions here but I cannot really translate the answers to my specific issue, so I start a new thread, sorry if this is a duplicate.

I've been trying something very simple for some time now and cannot get it to work, I suspect the reason is I don't understand how Lua scripts are run and how the entire Mach4 environment is set together. I made a module that I am successfully using from ScreenScript, it is made for sending OSC messages to another application via UDP. The module is placed in Modules/OSCDRO.lua and uses some Lua libraries that I added to the Mach4Hobby root folder.

Short Version:
I am trying to call a function that I defined in the ScreenScript from out of ta Module script. Is that even possible? Since I failed, I tried to use module directly in my macro and not take the detour of calling a ScreenScript-function, as I understand that the module loaded in the ScreenScript should also be available in the module (?). But I also failed with that. So, what would already solve my problem would be a way to call a function defined in the ScreenScript out of a macro.

Detailed Version:
I load and initialize it in the screen load script simply with
Code: [Select]
package.loaded.OSCDRO = nil
osc = require "OSCDRO"
oscIntervalMS = 10 --ms

--Open the osc socket
if(osc.Setup()=="") then
    scr.StartTimer(0,oscIntervalMS,0)
end

In the screen timer script I send my packages as follows:
if timer == 0 then
if(machEnabled~=0) then
osc.SendXYZ()
end
end