Hello Guest it is April 25, 2024, 05:37:01 AM

Author Topic: Fusion 360 and issues with Mach 4 G-Code  (Read 2479 times)

Fusion 360 and issues with Mach 4 G-Code
« on: January 02, 2021, 09:58:53 PM »
Hey Guys,

I'm pretty new to this, so please bare with me.

I've got a custom built CNC, using Smooth stepper ESS, and Mach 4.  I did my Design and CAM in Fusion 360.  Today was the first day I got it up and running, and I wanted to find out if there are a few things that I could do to streamline the setup of a G-Code file, and perhaps shed some light on an issue I'm having.

I've attached my G-Code, but the below changes won't reflect in the code.

First, I'm new to G-Code, so I did a lot of research to do these small adds.  First, since I'm zeroing the work area, and I found that if you're not exactly where you zeroed the work area the machine will run with some amount of offset that you started at.  So, what I did was added a "G0 Z3" to ensure that where ever the X and Y axis take me, the spindle won't collide with hold downs.  I also added a 10 second pause "G4 P10000" to give me a little mind reset for what's to come.  Next comes the spindle command "s20000 M3" and I added a 4 second pause to allow for the spindle to get to speed "G4 P4000."  The rest runs as is until I get to the end.  This all runs great, with no issues

Problem #1
About 7/8 of the way through the G-Code I run into an issue.  I think it's around line 301 in the attached file.  For some reason, when I have my soft limits enabled (They're set to .5 inches on X and Y and 14+ and 12+ inches respectably) I get an "Error: X Axis commanded over softmin."  I've tried moving the workpiece and work area to the center of the machine with no luck, so that's a mystery to me.  I'll run the G-Code without softlimits and it runs fine.  If someone has insight into this, I'm all ears.

Problem #2