Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 03:16:37 PM

Author Topic: wrong feed rates at the machine  (Read 4759 times)

wrong feed rates at the machine
« on: April 04, 2006, 10:39:04 PM »
Hello All, 

Somebody please help. I am fairly new to Mach3 and I am usinig it to control a mill/drill converion. Everything is working fine except for the actual feed rates of the machine. If I write the following code,  G1  f10  X10    Mach3 will move the table  and will display a feed rate of 10 inches/min. The problem is that the actual feed rate is half that.( It actualy takes 2 min to travel the 10 inches.).

Re: wrong feed rates at the machine
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2006, 10:15:56 AM »
Is it moving 2" when you tell it to? or is it moving 1" if you tell it to move 2"?
Fixing problems one post at a time ;)

www.newfangledsolutions.com
www.machsupport.com
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2006, 11:01:54 AM »
Another thing, if you have a VERY VERY VERY low acceleration rate, it might take longer to reach the 10 inches in one minute
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2006, 11:11:45 AM »
If I tell it to  move 2" it moves 2", If I tell it to  make a 3" diameter circle it makes a 3" diameter circle. The problem is that if I tell it to make that circle in 1 minute it takes about 2 minutes.  Both the X and Y axis are set at 180 ipm with an  acceleration of 3"/sec^2.
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2006, 11:14:15 AM »
Do you have constant velocity (CV) turned on? or are you working on exact stop mode?
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2006, 11:34:21 AM »
I am not sure, I will have to check later. Which mode should I be in? What does each mode do?

Thanks.
« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2006, 11:41:19 AM »