Hello Guest it is April 24, 2024, 10:29:33 PM

Author Topic: Update DROs (and screen) while running function/macro?  (Read 955 times)

Update DROs (and screen) while running function/macro?
« on: April 01, 2020, 07:02:41 PM »
When executing code in a function, is there a way to update the screen at the same time, or at least the DROs? I am doing a corner finder function and it would be nice if the DROs where alive during the execution of the code. I'm quite new to Mach4 and Lua so I might have missed something simple.

At the end of my corner finding function, it seems like I get a bunch of screen updates. The screen flickers for a short period (parts of a second).

Offline smurph

•  1,546 1,546
  • "That there... that's an RV."
    • View Profile
Re: Update DROs (and screen) while running function/macro?
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2020, 08:24:36 PM »
Don't do long running code in the event scripts.  Windows only supports ONE event loop for a program.  If you click a button, that is an event that needs to run to completion before another event is processed.  So long running code WILL prevent screen refreshes (DRO updates) etc...  So how do you do that?  Typically, is it implemented as a state machine in the PLC script.  Or a LUA co-routine.  Or by running a private script. 

I won't go into LUA co-routines, as that is a subject all of its' own. 

Depending on how complex the operation that you want to do it, you may be able to do the complete operation in a private script.  A private script basically launches a thread to run the script.  It will NOT have access to any of the global function in the screen scripts!  However, you can load a module and run module code in them. 

Private script method: