Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 05:20:44 AM

Author Topic: How to determine enabled/disabled state?  (Read 1470 times)

How to determine enabled/disabled state?
« on: February 11, 2020, 12:15:49 PM »
Just wondering how I can determine if the Enable/Disable button is enabled?  For example, when I click a button that involves a move, I thought I might check and see if the enable button is down before I even try to move.  Maybe flash a message - "Hey dummy...."

I am new to this so I don't really understand how all the parts work, so thanks for your patience and effort to teach me.  I really appreciate it.  I do a lot of looking before I post, but I haven't had any success with what I was trying.  I read about GetState and it reports the state of the controller, but I wondered what that enable button really is doing?

I thought that the GetState request would tell me, but all I ever get is that the machine is idle, so I thought maybe I'm asking the wrong question? 

I tried this code this morning.  All I got was a state of 0 regardless of the state of the enable button.  That's when I thought hmmmm....

Code: [Select]
local mcState, rc = mc.mcCntlGetState(inst)
if (mcState == mc.MC_STATE_IDLE) then
msg="Machine is IDLE  "..mcState
else
msg="Machine is not idle  "..mcState
end

wx.wxMessageBox(msg)

Then reverted back to my VB days and wondering if I could just figure out the property of the button (up or down)?

Thanks for any help. 

Tony
Re: How to determine enabled/disabled state?
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2020, 11:55:21 PM »
Well, I've been reading a lot (my eyes are going crossed and my head hurts).  I see where I can use the scr calls to get/set button properties.  That might be helpful if/when I can figure it out.  And then I see there is a signal  mc.OSIG_MACHINE_ENABLED that might be what  I am after, but I am still trying to figure out just how to read the state of that signal.

Going to bed now.....
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2020, 01:58:11 AM »
Hi,