Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 06:37:59 AM

Author Topic: Help ...I need to Move Mach 3 from an old Pc to a new laptop ?  (Read 1125 times)

Help ...I need to Move Mach 3 from an old Pc to a new laptop ?
« on: January 09, 2020, 12:44:23 PM »
Hi
I'm Gary and im new to this forum. I look forward to reading and learning from your posts.

I have been using Mach 3 for about five years now without problems. I really do not go near any Mach 3 settings though other than the basic ones i know and need to create my cnc projects.

My issue is that it really is an old basic computer that came with my Merchant dice Cnc which im running Mach 3 on. It is time to replace the pc with a decent laptop.
I have the laptop waiting but i honestly do not know where to start. 

Can i install Mach 3 on my Laptop and then transfer all my Mach 3 settings from my old pc ?
Also do i need any new Hardware to go with the Laptop to use Mach 3 ?
Also user friendly wise would upgrading to Mach 4 be of any benefit to me ?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you
Gary Don

Please go steady on the Mach 3 terminology as i really am not familiar with it.  ???

Re: Help ...I need to Move Mach 3 from an old Pc to a new laptop ?
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2020, 01:00:53 PM »
Hi,
does your original PC use a parallel port?

Laptops are generally unsuited to parallel ports and if its new probably has Windows 10 OS which is also incompatible
with a parallel port. For such a PC an external motion controller like an Ethernet SmoothStepper or a UC300 is required.

Craig
'I enjoy sex at 73.....I live at 71 so its not too far to walk.'
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2020, 06:10:09 AM »
Hi Craig
Thank you for taking the time to reply i really appreciate it. Im still naive though and unsure what to do.

I'm going to assume my old pc as a parallel port and so a parallel cable from the pc to the cnc superbox.