Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 06:34:12 PM

Author Topic: How do you resume after a flame-out?  (Read 1380 times)

How do you resume after a flame-out?
« on: December 06, 2019, 02:34:42 AM »
I am running a plasma machine.  Midway through the burn the plasma stopped firing and continued on the G-Code path.  I stopped the machine and reset the Plasma machine.  I have identified roughly what line of code it encountered the error and would like to restart the program a few lines of code before.

I am new to Mach3 and can't seem to figure out what buttons to push to allow me to do that.  I have tried to enter the code line number and tell it to begin from there but it just scrolled down to line 9 and stops.

If i could be pointed in the right direction or told where in the manual this is discussed I would be greatful.

Kelly
Wright CNC 4'x8' Plasma
Hypertherm 45XP
Re: How do you resume after a flame-out?
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2019, 03:25:57 AM »
Hi,
is called 'Run From Here' (RFH) and its problematic and given more grief and caused more crashes and gouged work
than any other feature of Mach3. The good news is that if you study it hard enough and practice with it....it will make sense
and is entirely useable.

I'm not sure that ALL of this applies to a plasma table but much will be in common with any mill program.

At any given point in time during a Gcode program your machine will be in a mode, it might be a G1 mode with a feed rate of F,
or it might be in incremental mode with a G51 scale factor and a G68 rotation in action. If you direct Mach to start at any
random Gcode line how is Mach to interpret the Gcode without knowledge of how it got there and what state or mode its in?

When you <Run From Here> Mach will traverse through the program without motion until it arrives at your nominated start
line and thereby have learned what state and mode it is supposed to be in. The next thing it does is a preparatory move