Hello Guest it is March 29, 2024, 12:01:46 PM

Author Topic: Trying to install a bit probe  (Read 1636 times)

Trying to install a bit probe
« on: August 29, 2019, 04:58:47 PM »
Hello all, I am still a beginner at using my CNC saw. I was helped greatly by this forum to actually now have my DIY saw up and running and having a been able to have many cuts under my belt.
I benefited from those on this forum on wiring and configuration besides helping me change some hardware.
I am using a ethernet Smoothstepper  controller board with BOB being MB3. I also have the latest build for Mach3. I am running my Mach3 software on a windows 10 version.
Back in late March and end of April is when I got the saw up and running, this issued me into learning layout and design and what to expect with different bits.
What I am trying to figure out how to configure is I want to use a bit height set plate. I will use many different bits for each project and up to now have to manually set each bits Z axis to 0. I have been lead to believe from watching some You Tubes that Mach 3 has the capability to us a Bit Plate for quick easy zero depth setting. I wrote a email to support but there response was to just use the probe connection. I understand that you can use that but no setup area for putting in the height of the plate to be able to give you zero on Z.
If anyone could steer me in the right direction on how to configure this will be mucho appreciated. I am also going to post the picture of my Z axis bit setting plate.
Thanks Tim

Offline TPS

•  2,501 2,501
    • View Profile
Re: Trying to install a bit probe
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2019, 01:51:14 PM »
hello Tim,

first of all i am a Little bit "confused", because you are talking about DIY saw and bits. i may depend on my bad bavarian english,
but by a saw i understand somithing to cut with saw blades, but i my be wrong.

if we are talking about "clasic" mill or route with bit's there are a couple of differen way's for the Z Zero hight.