Hello Guest it is April 19, 2024, 02:50:49 AM

Author Topic: Newbie with a few questions  (Read 2222 times)

Newbie with a few questions
« on: June 27, 2019, 12:18:44 PM »
I am kind of new to the CNC world, but have been a long time woodworker.  About 10 years ago I used and abused a Sears CompuCarve system.  I really liked the things it could do, but the reliability was an issue.  I am a subscriber to WoodSmith magazine and when I read the issues for their design of a CNC machine I decided it was time to get back into the CNC world.  I'm almost finished with the build and just getting started into the control programs.  I have a Mechanical Engineering degree and have used AutoCad for years.  The system I purchased was through Build Your CNC
2) NEMA 24 425 oz-in stepper motors
(2) Drivers (3.0Amp 24-40 Volts, 1-1/64 microstepping)
(1) NEMA 34 651 oz-in stepper motor
(1) Driver (6.0Amp 24-70 Volts, 1/2-1/256 microstepping)
(1) 36v 8.8a Power Supply
(1) Interface Board Depending on the One Selected (USB or Parallel)

I also purchased the system set-up to use Mach3 USB controller, the computer I will be useing is a Lenovo ThinkPad, it has a 2.80GHz processor, 16.0 GB Ram, and is a 64 Bit operating system.  I have purchased and have been messing around with MACH3 a little.  The system will not be used by me personally, not for production work.  OK, enough of the background information.  As I'm getting more and more into this I'm beginning to get a little concerned so if someone would be will could you help me with a few questions:
1)  Do you see any issues with my initial set-up (computer, Mach3 compatibility with the computer, etc.)
2)  I have been looking at purchasing VCarve Pro, in my eyes it seems a little expensive, but others tell me it is on the low end of the spectrum.  Would anyone suggest a different program (I would rather not go over the $800 threshold).
3)  Any other thoughts or suggestions would be welcome