Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 10:40:24 AM

Author Topic: New build CNC slave axis stops working when jogging  (Read 4357 times)

Offline lesmg

•  11 11
    • View Profile
New build CNC slave axis stops working when jogging
« on: December 30, 2018, 08:51:40 AM »
I have just built a new CNC machine and am using a Chinese BOB 5 axis. windows 7, 32 bit with the LPT port and MACH 3

X, Z, Y(SLAVE A) so two motors on Y axis

All the axis work when tuned, however I find when jogging the Y axis slave axis will stall and in a very strange way.

if I have jogged the x axis, in one direction, the slave side of the Y axis will not jog (or is in step mode) until I have pressed jog in the opposite direction on the X axis.

I'm am not a total newbie to this as I've built CNC a machine before but not one with a slaved axis.

*ANY* ideas welcome as I am having trouble searching the forum to find anything

Regards

Les

Offline lesmg

•  11 11
    • View Profile
Re: New build CNC slave axis stops working when jogging
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2018, 01:41:45 PM »
pins(s/d)    axis
2-3           X
4-5           Y
6-7           Z
8-9           A (not angular)

this is so weird I have video but cant upload, if I move X++ then Y/A -- it wont work
if I move X++ then X-- then Y/A-- its fine, also does this from the jog screen

Offline ger21

•  6,295 6,295
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2018, 04:44:02 PM »
I'd try a reinstall, with the latest version of Mach3.
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline lesmg

•  11 11
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2018, 04:49:12 PM »
I'm on my third pc  ;D
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2018, 05:29:24 PM »
Hi,
if its not a software or PC issue, and it sounds like you have taken steps to prove that then I would suspect that its a fault of the BoB or
stepper drivers.