Hello Guest it is April 23, 2024, 04:10:21 PM

Author Topic: Difficulty Loading Mach3  (Read 1238 times)

Difficulty Loading Mach3
« on: October 20, 2018, 04:44:09 PM »
Hi. I am a newbie to the CNC router arena. Purchased a Chinese 3040 router on ebay. Very pleased with the hardware and have had it run on CNC-USB software but I would prefer Mach3.  Have had serious difficulty (and failed) to get the supplied pirate copy (I assume) of the Mach3 software to work, kept getting "Error starting after prep" message. (Loaded and unloaded it several times) The software did open OK, I was able to set machine parameters as advised on many YouTube videos and the digits moved as if the machine was jogging but the signal was not replicated in the machine.  Not totally happy about messing with the supplied pirate software anyway, I opted to download from Artsoft the demo copy of Mach3 with the good intention of buying the most recent version  once I confirmed I could load it satisfactorily. To my disappointment, even with the CNC machine completely disconnected, when I go to open up the Mach3 Mill icon, my computer closes down and goes to safe operating mode. When I remove the demo software everything on my computer works as normal. I am at a loss as to my next steps, all checks of computer seem OK and the parallel port is confirmed as working OK. I am running Windows 7 32bit. Anyone had a similar experience or Any ideas or suggestions to get me going would be appreciated. Trev

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,199 9,199
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
Re: Difficulty Loading Mach3
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2018, 01:59:15 AM »
I presume you are using Win7 or Win10.

There are a couple of threads at the start of this section which detail some problems and the solution.

Hope this helps.
PEACE
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2018, 02:05:56 AM »
Hi,
I'm confused....you say:
had it run on CNC-USB software but

and then later say: