Author Topic: Cant get parallel port working  (Read 1659 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sanderm

  • Holding
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Cant get parallel port working
« on: July 21, 2018, 02:03:02 PM »
Hi Mach3 users.

Im new to cnc milling and i bought a second hand cnc milling machine which is working with parallel port.

Now the pc he used is broken and i got a laptop which im being trying to get working.

I dont get any pulse frequency on the driver tester.

I run windows xp on a hp compaq nc6120. Latest version of mach3.

-Disabled all the acpi devices in device manager
-tried all bios settings for parallel port(ecp bidirectional standard and epp)
-cnc machine moved a hop when restarted the laptop.
-tried special driver
-tried to delete the lpt port and the mach3 driver from the device manager.

Any suggestions that can help me?

Best regards

Sander

Offline sanderm

  • Holding
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Cant get parallel port working
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2018, 02:58:00 PM »
I think it is because the 3.3v laptop parallel port which is functioning fine(checked with ltp checkup utility and it gives 3.3v) if i connect the cable to the cnc and use the ltp checkup utility it moves a small but on all axis

Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,127
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: Cant get parallel port working
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2018, 04:04:04 PM »
Most laptops will not work with a parallel port.
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline Tweakie.CNC

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,641
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: Cant get parallel port working
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2018, 01:59:17 AM »
Perhaps a second user PC, which are cheap enough, but check that the parallel port is 5 Volt. You could, if necessary, fit a 5 Volt PCI Parallel Port card - check here for details; http://www.machsupport.com/forum/index.php/topic,34848.msg239910.html#msg239910

Alternately why not consider an external motion controller that could be used with your laptop - many to choose from but best to avoid those from China. (I currently use an ESS on one machine and a 57CNC on another).

Tweakie.
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.