Hello Guest it is March 29, 2024, 11:14:45 AM

Author Topic: EXTERNAL ESTOP REQUESTED  (Read 9258 times)

EXTERNAL ESTOP REQUESTED
« on: November 21, 2016, 01:34:08 PM »
I have been using Mach3 on a Shopmaster MillTurn for a few years now.  I have not been having any issues with it....  Today, it throws a message "EXTERNAL ESTOP REQUESTED".

It happens when the machine is sitting with no GCODE running and nothing moving.  I checked the ESTOP switches but when they are depressed, the message is "ESTOP SWITCH PRESSED".  It will happen within 30 seconds of resetting it.  It happens in both mill mode and lathe mode.  I have rebooted everything.  Yesterday when I shut the machine down, the PC "hung" while turning off and I finally had to turn off the power switch.  I looked through the configs, but its been a while since I looked at them and I haven't changed anything.

What can cause this message (since pressing a ESTOP has a different message)?  Any ideas as to what it might be?

Thanks,

Terry

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,196 9,196
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
Re: EXTERNAL ESTOP REQUESTED
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2016, 04:45:00 AM »
My suspicion would be electrical noise.

Try increasing the Debounce Interval (Config / General Config) to 2000 or so. If this resolves the problem then you need to investigate the actual cause of the noise (Debounce should be regarded as a sticky plaster rather than a cure).

Have you changed anything in the shop – added anything new (equipment, lighting, etc.), rerouted any wiring ?
Are your machine switches (estop, limit, home, etc.) and the associated wiring all sound and in good order ?
Does disconnecting your VFD resolve the problem ?

Tweakie.
PEACE
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2016, 09:29:12 AM »
Thanks for the response Tweakie.