Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 05:46:25 PM

Author Topic: Welcome this newbie  (Read 2482 times)

Welcome this newbie
« on: November 14, 2017, 12:27:16 PM »
Hi All..
I am totally new here and to the CNC arena. I have experience with 3D printing but that's totally different. I am a graphic designer by profession but love working with my hands and making things.

I recently have finished putting together a CNC machine using what I guess is an older model from an Instructible tutorial. Everything went together pretty well and successfully. I have used the calibration routine within MACH3 and I was somewhat satisfied with the results of that. I ran one of the wizards within MACH3 for a simple circle and that seemed to behave as expected.

I am quite sure that I have something things not set up quite correctly, but we'll see as time goes along.

My initial issue right now is importing GCODE into MACH3. I currently have the free trial of the hobby version that I am running. I have a benefactor (my boss) who is funding some of this, so I will eventually maybe upgrade to a paid version.

I have drawn a simple gear using Adobe Illustrator, which will save as an SVG file. I then took that into inkscape and created the paths and generated the GCODE. When I put the GCODE into MACH3 I don't get the whole gear. I get only a partial part of the over all design. I also tried using MakerCam.com to create a GCODE file. I got even less of my gear to show in MACH3 using that. I looked around and found another online at nraynaud.github.io call the G-Code Q'n'dirty toolpath simulator. When I put my GCODE into that, I got the whole gear as I would expect.

I don't have my GCODE handy to post right now, but I will.

My main question, and pretend I'm a third grader when answering this... what is the best way to create images that can be converted into GCODE and what is the most reliable way to create the GCODE.