Hello Guest it is April 19, 2024, 12:54:57 PM

Author Topic: Complete newb, need help  (Read 2704 times)

Complete newb, need help
« on: October 19, 2017, 09:59:54 AM »
Hi!

So, I'm doing a project involving a Mach3 powered CNC with a custom fixture. In essence, we are not doing any tooling, but merely using the CNC head to travel in a regular path while it carries a probe that's performing some surface treatments.

Thanks to an electrical malfunction (without going into too much detail, my experiment involves high voltages which backfired thanks to a miswiring), I've lost all my code (and the USB key that it was backed up on).

Since my background is in a field completely unrelated to engineering (chemistry), I have literally zero experience using gcode.

My experiment basically involves moving the head in repeatable straight lines for N times at a set feed rate. Could anyone help me whip up some basics, at least for the loop function?

Through trial and error and what I remember from my protocol/ cobbled together from what I found online, this is similar what I'm doing. Unfortunately I also forgot the initialisation parameters :(

Code: [Select]
M3
G1 X0 Y0

G1 X15 F0.5
G1 Y0.5 F0.5
G1 X0 F0.5
G1 Y1 F0.5
G1 X15 F0.5

M30

My old version of the code looked something like this, repeating until Y=15. My experiment basically involves changing the step size (Y0.5 to ex Y0.3 or whatever) at a set feedrate.

I know it's asking for a lot, but it would really save my rear, especially as this is the only gcode that I'm likely to ever need in my life.

Thanks in advance!
Re: Complete newb, need help
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2017, 05:25:46 PM »
Hi,
couple of observations both F and G1 are modal.

So when you specify the feedrate F as you do on the first line, it will stay like that for all subsequent lines until a new Fnnn word is issued.