Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 01:25:22 PM

Author Topic: How to make cnc work?  (Read 2302 times)

How to make cnc work?
« on: July 10, 2017, 01:37:38 PM »

I recently purchased a used cnc router with no manual or instructions (custom built).  It currently has  Ability Systems Indexer LPT , Indexer LPT-JS and G Code Controller.  The previous owner had MecSoft VisualMill installed, but I would like to switch to Vectric Aspire and use Mach3, but I am having issues. 

My computer has 2 pci cards controlling 2 dbi 25's (photo attached) and a 3rd pci that the LPT-JS connects to.  Is there a way to make Mach3 work with 2 pcis, or is there another option that would be easier to get my machine so I can work with Vectric Aspire?

I am a newbie and very frustrated as I have been trying to get my cnc working for over a month without any success.

???
Re: How to make cnc work?
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2017, 03:49:40 PM »
Did you try contacting Ability Systems?
Also vectric creates your design or g-code and Mach3 translated the g-code into movement.

If your machine can run as is, you can still use vectric
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2017, 06:17:16 PM »
I have tried contacting Ability Systems several times to no avail.  The machine originally had Abilty Systems G code controller and software which was used with MecSoft VisualMill, but I would prefer to use Mach3 and Aspire, but so far no one has been able to answer my questions.  Vectric is not compatible with Ability Systems, which is why I am considering Mach3. 

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2017, 09:09:59 PM »
I know nothing about the Alibility Systems Controller and don't use
MecSoft Software. Since you don't have a manual I will not even try to guess
what you have. I will not spend time looking for info that one should provide
so hope you understand.

Mach 3, a software controller, uses gcode to give the necessary instructions