Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 09:43:05 AM

Author Topic: Mach3 w/ new UC100 No Limit switches recognized  (Read 4160 times)

Re: Mach3 w/ new UC100 No Limit switches recognized
« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2017, 08:33:47 AM »
my BOB is fed with a 24VDC PS.  they are fed from same.
the sensors are labeled PN SN04-N, found their specs.  Supply is 5-36VDC, 0V NPN N.O. output.
when I put metal in front of them, their signal line goes from 9.3V down to 0.7v.  Which "SHOULD" be enough to detect to zero for the Mach.  BUT!!!
The other channels drop by from 9.3 down to 8.3 simultaneous.  Even though I am not activating that sensor.

So, I don't know the history of the sensors by previous owners that hacked.  I am a electrical engineer and been doing sensors for 25yrs.  So, i understand and know what they SHOULD be doing.
And I know that these are acting weird.  So fairly convinced that the issues are in the sensors.  I will create the 3 switches w/ microswitches to GND and diagnose from there out.
« Reply #11 on: June 08, 2017, 08:51:35 AM »
Hi,
where are you measuring your 9V?. If its at the UC100 input pin then you risk wrecking it.

I suspect that as one input goes low then the reverse current flowing into the UC100 inputs is somewhat reduced therefore the remaining
pins achieve somewhat closer to 5V. If you are injecting current into the UC100 inputs STOP! The input gate of the Schmitt triggers are likely
protected by diodes from overdrive. Any substantial current will blow them open with unknown consequences for operation of the gate.

Craig
'I enjoy sex at 73.....I live at 71 so its not too far to walk.'
« Reply #12 on: June 08, 2017, 12:36:23 PM »
Tonight, will be testing with DRY mechanical switches.  No NPN NO circuits.
« Reply #13 on: June 09, 2017, 06:32:39 AM »
Well, a couple more steps of diagnostics.