Hello Guest it is March 19, 2024, 04:26:02 AM

Author Topic: Do i have to manually type in tool # when I do tool change?  (Read 3174 times)

Offline JDG3

•  19 19
    • View Profile
Do i have to manually type in tool # when I do tool change?
« on: October 04, 2016, 12:00:37 PM »
I'm new to Mach3, and new to cnc lathe. I've been using EMC2 (linux) on a mill I retrofitted for about a year.
My question is why do I have to manually input the tool number after each tool change? It's very easy to forget that small, but important step.
The tool number is in the program_ M6 T4 etc., but Mach always goes to tool #0 before each change, so the offsets dont change until I type in the tool # and hit enter.
Am I doing something wrong?
I've looked this up many ways, but cant find this issue anywhere.
Thanks for any help

Offline Davek0974

•  2,606 2,606
    • View Profile
Re: Do i have to manually type in tool # when I do tool change?
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2016, 01:17:20 PM »
Thats odd, how have you got tool-change setup in config?

Can you post up a chunk of code that shows the beginning of a job with a tool change and maybe 20 lines afterwards.

I use it a fair bit and never have to enter the tool number so it must be a setting or code issue i think :)

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2016, 01:25:54 PM »
Attach your xml file.
What version Mach3 are you using?

In General Logic Configuration you have some options for tool change. Do you have Ignore Tool Change selected?

Try "T0404" for the tool.

RICH

Offline JDG3

•  19 19
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2016, 03:27:46 PM »
Thanks very much, guys.
Rich, you were right on. I've just been entering T1 or T2 etc. It has to be T0101.