Hello Guest it is March 29, 2024, 10:09:34 AM

Author Topic: Sorry to ask, but what CAD/CAM packages are recommended for a newbie?  (Read 4672 times)

I'm just embarking on setting up a CNC mill and need to get a cad/cam suite. I have over twenty years experience in manual machining and am very computer savvy, but I'm completely new to CNC. I don't expect to get anything for nothing, but is there a half decent 3d cad program suitable for novices? I've taken a look at quite a few of the introductory free trial offers, but while I'm aware that you don't get "owt fer nowt", the pricing for many is at best opaque. I don't really want to spend more than £100 GBP on a cad program (to start with, but may decide to upgrade to something more sophisticated at a later stage) and haven't thought about the cost of cam yet, but I'm open to all suggestions.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2016, 06:42:54 PM by Agathon »

Offline dude1

•  1,253 1,253
    • View Profile
Re: Sorry to ask, but what CAD/CAM packages are recommended for a newbie?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2016, 08:24:02 PM »
Vectric cut2d is the easiest out there
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2016, 08:49:22 PM »
Take a look at CamBam too. Forty sessions before you need to buy. Download the full version. I have two copies one on my homebuilt with Mach 3 and a second copy on the large bed mill at work. For $150 it was money well spent.  The P in PC is still Personal so you may not like what others think is great.
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2016, 06:37:17 PM »
Thanks for the replies, but really need something 3D in the CAD dept.

Offline dude1

•  1,253 1,253
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2016, 06:53:17 PM »
fusion 360

Offline ger21

•  6,295 6,295
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2016, 07:24:29 PM »
Other than Fusion 360, which is free for hobbyists, there really aren't any other 3D CAD/CAM packages for under $1000, usually much higher.
Gerry

2010 Screenset