Hello Guest it is April 18, 2024, 02:00:53 AM

Author Topic: 1st time post, in dire need of setup assistance  (Read 1821 times)

1st time post, in dire need of setup assistance
« on: April 15, 2016, 10:20:38 AM »
Hello all, my name is Bill and this is my first post in the Mach forum.

I'm a professional luthier, and have nearly half a century experience in traditional woodworking. However, I'm totally new to the CNC world.

I had posted in another forum that resulted in no help just yet. I have the Huanyang 2.2Kw VFD and the matching water cooled spindle that I had purchased from Automation Technology, Inc. to use with my CNC Router Parts CRP2448 and their NEMA 23 DIY electronics. I have the parameters set properly in the VFD as according to all the recommendations (and the manual) that I can muster (however I'm open to details on that as well to confirm or correct).

I am also fairly confident that I have all the wiring correct (30+ years experience and understanding of wiring and electronics both industrial and residential). I am not using a relay in the control box since I've read on multiple accounts that it's not necessary for this. I can run the spindle fine from the VFD on manual mode. Where I'm having a problem is with how to setup my system to drive the VFD and spindle using Mach 3, through an Ethernet Smoothstepper (ESS), and a Gecko G540 drive when I've changed the VFD to PD001=1. I have the latest version of the ESS plugin and am running the recommended stable version of Mach 3 on a Windows 8.0 Laptop. I also have followed various ideas of setup to no avail including the Warp9 setup info to drive the spindle for the ESS.