Author Topic: Screen4 Strange behaviour  (Read 2925 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline leversole

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Screen4 Strange behaviour
« on: January 13, 2016, 06:59:48 AM »
Have tried using Screen4 a few times...When I click File, to open a file, it takes about 3 minutes to get the open file dialog box, has anyone run across this before? THis makes it darn near unusable...it has been a while since I used it, but I remember that once I got a screen set loaded, it behaved as expected...I am running Win7 Pro and have the latest versions of screen 4 from the website

Leslie

Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,126
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: Screen4 Strange behaviour
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2016, 07:15:20 AM »
Never seen that. I run it in 8.1 Pro with no issues.
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline Highspeed1964

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: Screen4 Strange behaviour
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2016, 12:43:55 PM »
Hi guys,

Sorry for bringing up an old(ish) thread, but I think this is the best place for this.

I am running Screen4 on a Windows 10 machine and if I try to use any of the menus, the program goes "Not Responding".  I've tested it on a Windows 7, 64-bit machine and do not have the same issue.  I've tried running the earlier version of Screen Designer and have major troubles with that one.  Nothing lines up correctly, if I click one of the buttons to change to a different screen it shows the cross-hairs and starts resizing the background image, etc.  So I'm using Screen4 as is, I just have to use the icons for the menu functions but feel I may be missing some features that are only available on the menus (i.e. no icons available on the tool bar).

Anyway, thought I'd give my findings on this and hope there may be a solution for the newer Windows versions forth-coming.

Thanks,

Stephen "Highspeed" Kruse

Offline Klaus1311

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 491
    • View Profile
    • Hard - and Software
Re: Screen4 Strange behaviour
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2016, 01:21:32 PM »
Hi Stephen

are you using Mach3Screen or MachScreen?


Klaus
The brain isn't a soap, it doesn't shrink when used.

Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,126
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: Screen4 Strange behaviour
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2016, 01:53:02 PM »
I just updated my 8.1 machine to Windows 10, and haven't tried running Screen4 on it yet.

However, I don't think I've ever used any of the menu items in Screen 4.
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline Highspeed1964

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: Screen4 Strange behaviour
« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2016, 03:30:07 PM »
Hi Stephen

are you using Mach3Screen or MachScreen?


Klaus

I've tried Mach3Screen and had the weird issues I mentioned earlier.  Never tried MachScreen.  I'm currently using Screen4 as that seems to work the best for me.

Offline Tarak

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 227
    • View Profile
Re: Screen4 Strange behaviour
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2016, 05:25:11 PM »
I use screen4 alot, and yes it does have a few bugs, the loooong menu delay is one of them, but I find this to be the easiest screen editer to use, the main bug that catches me out is the screen size, if using on a laptop (or a small screen) you need to make sure the entire screen is visible, so basically DO NOT USE THE SCROLL BARS if the screenset is larger than your monitor, otherwise it WILL move all bitmaps around, and I haven't figured out how to move them back without needing to start from scratch?????
Tarak