Author Topic: Mapping the path for M11 / M10 commands  (Read 2801 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline desertland

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Mapping the path for M11 / M10 commands
« on: November 16, 2015, 03:06:11 PM »
OK this is one of those " should be simple" but for I have not figured out how to get the M11 command to work triggering a laser diode.

I do have it working with the M07 and M09 commands for the flood control. but flood control has enough delay to notice a deeper burn from the delay.

I also have the latest version of MACH3 that has the M11/M10 laser support.

I'm just doing simple on/off. The signal is connected to pin 17 of a break out board. The BOB is connected to PORT 3 of a smooth stepper. In the MACH3 plugin control I have port 3 enabled as an output.

Question one on the M command. As I understand it, in the G code the command has to look more like this: M11P1    So the "P" is that for a pin out, as in pin 17 from the BOB. So in my case it should read as M11P17 ? Or do they mean OUTPUT#1 ? from the ports and pins set up?




Online Tweakie.CNC

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,679
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: Mapping the path for M11 / M10 commands
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2015, 09:42:55 AM »
With the M10/M111 commands the 'P' relates to the Output # (not the pin number).
So M11P1 would switch on Output#1 (which in turn could be mapped to output pin 17) at the instant of an axis movement.

When using the Smooth Stepper configure the M10 /M11 commands in the SS plugin software.

Tweakie.
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.

Offline robertspark

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 585
    • View Profile
Re: Mapping the path for M11 / M10 commands
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2015, 01:22:55 PM »
With regards to the ESS, M11Px and M10Px .... the "x" part makes no difference....

they (the ESS) only has one output that is able to respond to M10 / M11 commands

And as Tweakie says... that is setup in the ESS Configuration Screen (about 1/2 way down the Right hand side).

You basically set the Output that you wish toggled when the M10 (off) and M11 (on) commands are seen in g-code.

So in your case ... on the ESS Congig Screen you would enter Output "3".

And every time an M11 / M10 code is seen it will instantly trigger / toggle output 3...

I use the command with torch height control and plasma cutting..... for me it is an easy way to toggle THC without hesitation via an M-code when I want to from within sheetcam.... for example when cutting curves of a certain radius of cutting circles etc.  Normally if I'm cutting straight lines and the torch height controller is providing a "THC OK" signal my motion controller (ESS) will move the torch up and down whenever a "THCUp" or "THCDn" command is received (as I'm using a motion controller).... bu feeding the "THCOK" feed through a relay before the input pin.... I can break the "THCOn" signal on demand when I'm cutting corners without the machine slowing down / hesitating to execute THC m-codes....

It is a hack... but it works well!

Rob
Rob

Albert Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself.”

Offline desertland

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Mapping the path for M11 / M10 commands
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2015, 01:57:43 PM »
Strange.. a "Rob" and another fellow responded to my post in less than an hour. For what ever reason there answers/posts seem to have been deleted.

Anyhow, thanks to them I'm laser burning with near instant M11 commands.

Offline robertspark

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 585
    • View Profile
Re: Mapping the path for M11 / M10 commands
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2015, 02:26:01 PM »
Yeah, I thought I responded to this one a while ago (yesterday?)

Rob
Rob

Albert Einstein ― “If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself.”

Offline desertland

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Mapping the path for M11 / M10 commands
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2015, 03:48:38 PM »
Yeah, I thought I responded to this one a while ago (yesterday?)

Rob
You did in fact...This was your post:
Message :
-----
The ESS does support m10/m11...

You need to know what the programmed output number is for your current m07

Then go into the ESS config page and programme in the output number for m10/m11

Rob
-----