Author Topic: new machine  (Read 6213 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jimbo1954

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
new machine
« on: March 25, 2015, 06:59:16 AM »
Hi guys
i am in the process of building a new machine, this is 2meters by 1.8 meters, i have just set up the y axis and i am using rack and gear, i want the machine to run up and down a few hundred times to bed in the gears.
i have max'd out the motors , and i am getting a speed of 45 metres per minute without stalling or racking, of course i would never use this speed, but i just wanted to check to see how fast they will run at maximum, these are nema 23, 425 oz motors on a mod2 12 tooth gear and rack, direct , no gearbox. there seems to be plenty of torque in these motors,

what i want to do is start from the home position , y 0.00. and run it the full length of the bed, then return to the home position, pause for 2 secs so i can check the repeat position, then run back up at a slightly higher speed, and repeat about a couple of hundred times, this will help to bed in the gears and bearings, and also check for repeatability at the home position.


can anybody help me with the g gode for this please

thank you in anticipation

Jimbo

Offline RICH

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,302
    • View Profile
Re: new machine
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2015, 07:54:37 AM »
( code to run back and forth)
G90 G80 G40 G54 G21 G17 G50 G94 G64 (safety block)
M98 P1 L100  (RUN SUBROUTINE CODE 100 TIMES)
M30

o1
G1 Y1900 F45 ( YAXIS TRAVEL AT FEED RATE)
G1 Y0.0    (RETURN TO Y=0)
G4 P 2  ( PAUSE or can use M1  instead of G4)
M99 (RETURNS BACK TO THE )
%


Check config for the pause  / dwell time so that it is seconds. You may want to use
M1 instead of G4 P2 , all you need to do is hit the cycle start each time, but gives you whatever time you wish to check indicator.

RICH

Offline jimbo1954

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: new machine
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2015, 08:02:01 AM »
thanks rich for your speedy reply, is there anyway to increase the federate on each pass do you think??


best regards jimbo

Offline jimbo1954

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: new machine
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2015, 08:02:25 AM »
feed rate

Offline RICH

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,302
    • View Profile
Re: new machine
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2015, 12:26:49 PM »
Think you would need to write a macro to do that.
Maybe someone can chime in and do one.

RICH

Offline jimbo1954

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: new machine
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2015, 01:05:08 PM »
ok thanks
i didn't know if there is a possibility to create a variable for the feedrate then on each pass increase the variable by ...say 100. something like

feedrate = x
x= 1000

then on the next pass
x=x=100

Offline jimbo1954

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: new machine
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2015, 01:05:38 PM »
x=x+100

Offline TPS

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 1,122
    • View Profile
Re: new machine
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2015, 01:57:59 PM »
Hi jimbo1954,

i think something like this should work:

( code to run back and forth)
#1 = 100 (start Speed)
G90 G80 G40 G54 G21 G17 G50 G94 G64 (safety block)
M98 P1 L100  (RUN SUBROUTINE CODE 100 TIMES)
M30

o1
#1 = [#1 +100] (increase Speed)
G1 Y1900 F[#1] ( YAXIS TRAVEL AT FEED RATE)
G1 Y0.0    (RETURN TO Y=0)
G4 P 2  ( PAUSE or can use M1  instead of G4)
M99 (RETURNS BACK TO THE )
%


not tested yust try.

Thomas
anything is possible, just try it.
if you find some mistakes, in my bad bavarian english,they are yours.

Offline jimbo1954

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: new machine
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2015, 02:14:43 PM »
works a treat , thank you for your help

regs
jimbo