Hello Guest it is March 19, 2024, 12:57:03 AM

Author Topic: Mach 3 won't talk to my PC,  (Read 2228 times)

Mach 3 won't talk to my PC,
« on: July 20, 2014, 04:52:32 PM »
First off, I'm very new to CNC and though I've read up on a lot of the aspects of cnc I still have a lot of applicational skills to learn.

With that said, I'm stuck still trying to get my parallel port cable to show signs of signal transmission. I set everything up according to the manual that came with the red tb6560 board that I bought from sainsmart and no movement was seen. So I killed the power and hooked up my multimeter to measure my voltage drop across the pins of the parallel port cable. I measured these pins with mach3 open and estop reset button not blinking. Here is what I read, (pin# - voltage)

1-3.3v 2-0v 3-0v 4-3.3v 5-0v 6-0v 7-0v 8-0v 9-0v 10-4v 11-4v 12-4v 13-4v 14-3.3v 15-4v 16-3.3v 17-0v 18-0v 19-0v 20-0v 21-0v 22-0v 23-0v 24-0v 25-ground

Seems to me the pin 3 should have went from 0-3.3V as I moved the x axis, but nothing. So I looked into my device manager for the port name, and the only LTP was 378 and mach had that selected already. The other port was COM1. I thought it was my board, since I've heard a lot of bad things about these drivers, but I can't even make smoke, vibrations in the motors, nothing!

The PC I'm using is a dell GX 620 with win 7 32bit os. Please help me from going crazy by measuring voltages of my parallel port pins repeatedly lol!

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Mach 3 won't talk to my PC,
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2014, 06:30:30 PM »
Can you attach your xml please, it will allow me to see what pins you have set up.
Hood
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2014, 08:35:25 PM »
Hood,