Hello Guest it is April 18, 2024, 05:33:10 PM

Author Topic: best intro software for very basic lettering to be cut on a 20x14cm machine.  (Read 2826 times)

Hi, ok so im past the part where i thought it was the"plug n play" world, but as some one who was computer illiterate not long ago, and a total newb to the world of cnc also, the last two months since purchasing the basics have been somewhat emotional, to say the least. but after taking basic advice, downloaded every manual in a pdf, and have read them till i eat, sleep, dream and wake thinking of it. am finally, understanding just a few of the basic concepts etc.
  i am a self taught hobby jeweler, lost wax method, who has designed and produced everything to date by hand. after seeing the capabilities of what cnc and computers could do, i wanted in. so i invested more than i could afford, then realized the software i was going to use would cost £13000 ! typical me doing

So, if i wanted to just say create basic shapes or lettering in wax on my mill, would artcam express or insignia suffice, or is there a cheaper way than insignia, express is more than within budget.

my OS is win8.1, licensed mach3, i use the Uc100 to connect to a little European made table top mill 200 x 140mm.

Any Advice would be kindly appreciated, mark 

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,198 9,198
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
Hi Mark,

I have been using Mach3 for more than 10 years now and every time I read the manual or read things on the forum I learn something new. I don’t think you could be expected to learn it all at once so just take your time and progress one step at a time.  ;)

As you have found, good quality CAD/CAM software is possibly the greatest expenditure in the CNC business and although Artcam is probably the best for your jewellery work take a look at Vectric and see if any of their softwares could be of use to you.  http://www.vectric.com/

Tweakie.
PEACE
many thanks Tweakie, i will do.